9: Capture, Configure, Control

Episode 9 September 01, 2020 01:50:53
9: Capture, Configure, Control
Examining
9: Capture, Configure, Control

Sep 01 2020 | 01:50:53

/

Hosted By

Kris Hans Erik Christiansen

Show Notes

In this episode, Erik and Kris focus on productivity strategies for educators and students. They give their experience using project management software like Basecamp and Trello, do a deep dive on note-taking apps (for all platforms), and review Cal Newport’s concept of Deep Work and the strategies of Capture, Configure, and Control for taking control of your time. The co-hosts also discuss their experience so far with paid podcast hosting. They also talk about Andy Hargreaves’ critique of EdTech in the Washington Post and innovative social distancing strategies for k-12 students in Alberta.

SHOW NOTES

Project Management Tools

Basecamp: https://basecamp.com

Trello: https://trello.com/home 

Cal Newport and Deep Work

*Cal Newport’s Deep Work: https://amzn.to/2EUX5He 

Overview of Deep Work (Medium): https://medium.com/@nina.semczuk/5-practices-from-deep-work-by-cal-newport-thatll-change-your-life-303847ec5f3c

Cal Newport Study Hacks Blog: https://www.calnewport.com/blog/  

Cal Newport Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/fleeing-collapsing-career-taking-notes-on-books-building/id1515786216?i=1000483167517 

Cal Newport 3 practices for organizing your documenting your ideas and planning your time

  1. Capture - Get it down
  2. Configure - Describe the task in detail
  3. Control - Plan and execution of the task

Other organization strategies

*Accidental Creative by Todd Henry: https://amzn.to/3lEYORU

Mind Mapping by Tony Buzan: https://tonybuzan.com/  

Documentaries on innovation

General Magic

Love Notes to Newton

Podcast hosting options

Castos: https://www.castos.com 

PodBean: https://www.podbean.com 

Simple Cast: https://simplecast.com

Captivate: https://www.captivate.fm/podcast/ 

Buzzprout: https://www.buzzsprout.com 

Anchor: https://anchor.fm 

News Articles

Washington Post - “The education technology students will need — and won’t — after coronavirus”: https://www.washingtonpost.com/education/2020/08/06/education-technology-students-will-need-wont-after-covid-19/ 

Huff Post - “Private Businesses Could Host Some Alberta Students' Remote Learning This Year”: https://www.huffingtonpost.ca/entry/private-remote-learning-alberta_ca_5f344abac5b64cc99fe1ab76 

Clayton Christensen’s Book on Innovation

*Innovator’s Dilemma: https://amzn.to/34OWGRt 

*Competing Against Luck: https://amzn.to/31JL1Bg 

*How will you Measure your Life: https://amzn.to/31IXC7N 

Tech Tip: Note-Taking Apps

Web-based Apps


Google Keep: https://keep.google.com 

Evernote: https://evernote.com 

Roam: https://roamresearch.com 

Desktop and mobile apps

Apple Notes: https://support.apple.com/en-ca/guide/notes/welcome/mac

iA Writer: https://ia.net/writer

Stylus based apps

Notability: https://www.gingerlabs.com

Good Notes: https://www.goodnotes.com

Microsoft OneNote: https://www.onenote.com/signin?wdorigin=ondc

Privacy focused apps (https://www.privacytools.io/software/notebooks/)

Joplin: https://joplinapp.org 

Standard Notes: https://standardnotes.org 

Paper notebooks and pens 

*Rhodia Webbie notebook: https://amzn.to/2EPidyn 

*Leuchtturm 1917 notebook: https://amzn.to/3jAvjif 

*Uni-Ball Jetstream Pen: https://amzn.to/32XbbjJ 

Scanner Apps

Scanner Pro: https://readdle.com/scannerpro

Adobe Scan: https://acrobat.adobe.com/ca/en/mobile/scanner-app.html

Microsoft Office Lens: https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/p/office-lens/9wzdncrfj3t8?activetab=pivot:overviewtab

Tech Tip: Data Backup Strategies

3-2-1 backup strategy Leo Laporte TWiT - https://twit.tv/shows/twit-bits/episodes/3019 

Local backup tools

*Western Digital Black Hard Drive: https://amzn.to/2YRezep 

*Western Digital Red Hard Drive: https://amzn.to/31HcyDA 

*Western Digital Black 5TB P10 Portable External Hard Drive: https://amzn.to/3bl66VZ 

*Western Digital Black 12TB P10 Portable External Hard Drive: https://amzn.to/3gNej6z 

*Sabrent USB 3.0 to SATA External Hard Drive Lay-Flat Docking Station: https://amzn.to/31IGf7a 

*Samsung T5 Portable SSD - 500GB: https://amzn.to/2Gfk942 

*SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable External SSD: https://amzn.to/2EUxq0Z 

*Western Digital Black 1TB NVMe SSD Drive: https://amzn.to/3jxJ3tS 

*ASUS ROG NVMe SSD Enclosure: https://amzn.to/32Kz7GG 

Automated backup software

Apple time machine guide: https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT201250 

Super Duper (macOS): https://www.shirt-pocket.com  

Off-site cloud storage

Carbonite: https://www.carbonite.com 

BackBlaze: https://www.backblaze.com 

(Please note that items preceded by a  *  are Amazon affiliate links)

CONTACT:

Website: edtechexamined.com

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @EdTechExamined

TEAM INFORMATION:

Erik Christiansen, Co-Founder & Co-Host

Website: erikchristiansen.net

Twitter: @egchristiansen

Blog: tech-bytes.net

Kris Hans, Co-Founder & Co-Host

Website: krishans.ca

Twitter:  @KrisHans

Market Grade: marketgrade.com

Christopher Hoang, Audio Producer & Sound Engineer

Website: chrishoang.ca

Other Episodes

Episode 50

October 08, 2022 00:51:24
Episode Cover

Fifty: Over the Hill

In this episode, Erik and Kris celebrate the 50th episode of EdTech Examined. Our co-hosts reflect on the podcast so far, announce their new...

Listen

Episode 0

August 20, 2020 01:14:57
Episode Cover

Special Episode: Teaching and Learning Online Network Interview

In this special episode, Kris and Erik were interviewed by the Teaching and Learning Online Network (or TALON) at the University of Calgary€™s School...

Listen

Episode 23

May 04, 2021 00:41:09
Episode Cover

23: Apple Spring Loaded Event

In this episode, Kris and Erik discuss the Apple Spring Loaded event from April 20th, 2021. The co-hosts discuss each of Apple's new products...

Listen